Christmas

  This past week was pretty great. For Christmas we basically just tried to do service all day, which was honestly a nice break from proselyting and hearing, "no gracias, yo soy católico," over and over haha. But at the end of the day, we got to watch Elf. It was in Spanish but honestly, I thought it was funnier in Spanish. 

     We had zone conference this week as well, which was...super fun and not boring at all. But after zone conference we were able to go to the Uros, which are super cool. They are floating islands in the middle of Lake Titicaca. I have no idea where they came from, but they're just floating islands made of sticks and grass with houses and people living on them. We sang some Christmas carols to them, and they pretended to like it.

      Before we went to the Uros, we ate some food and it had nuts in it, so me and my comp had to go to a sketchy pharmacy and buy a pill for me. It was super cheap, and it did absolutely nothing, so on the way to the Uros I was trying not to throw up and it was not easy. The boat was super rough, and the lake genuinely smells like sulfer and poop. 

     On Monday of this week, we had to work like normal because our pday got moved to today, and we basically just had another day of service. It had been raining every day since my last email but Monday was sunny, so everyone was outside working. We just went around helping everyone with everything, (pushing wheelbarrows, shelling nuts, lifting every object known to man etc.) We tried to invite them all to church or to be taught by us but they all just wanted the free labor and weren't interested, or they were Catholics.

     We put our amigo Fabio on date to be baptized this week and he's super cool...I think. He's really old and has a lot of questions and I can't understand a word he says because he's old and his Spanish sounds like gibberish. I'm excited for him though.

     Yesterday we were out knocking doors and a random llama ran up to us with a broken rope trailing behind it and tried to attack my companion for no reason haha. But the funny part was it loved me. It let me pet it and take a picture with it and stuff, but it tried to jump on and kick my comp like 4 times until the owner came and grabbed it. I have no idea why it hated him so much, but it was funny.

    Anyways thanks for all your support back home. I love you all and miss you guys.

    Pictures: chill llama, a chicken foot in a soup I ate, the Christmas lights in Peru, and Lake Titicaca/Uros 








Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Week 4

Week 2 in Peru