Week 2 in Peru
Hey guys sorry for missing my email last week, I didn't do it in the morning when I had time, then before I knew it, it was too late.
The
travel to get to Peru was awful haha. We left the mtc at like 7am ish
and we got to Peru at 9:30am the next day. I dont know about you, but 26
hours of travel without any entertainment when everyone is speaking
Spanish for the second half is not pleasant, but we got here.
The first few days were pretty fun. All the new missionaries stayed
in Cusco for a few days with the APs, office elders, and the mission
president while they figured out the transfers and stuff. We basically
were given cards with a picture of Jesus and directions to the church
building and were told to street contact. I felt like an annoying sales
person but at least I know my product is good haha.
I
went to a lesson with one of the APs and he doesn't speak any English
but it ended up going good. I just shared a scripture, explained one
topic in really bad Spanish and bore my testimony, and he talked for
like 20 minutes straight cause I can't really do anything else haha, but
it was great. We put her on date for baptism.
I got my
assignment to Puno which is right next to Lake Titicaca. It's the highest
elevation in the mission at about 14k feet but I'm doing alright. The
weather's kind of weird though, when the suns out it's so hot I can't
think, and when the sun goes down it's so cold I can't move haha. My
companion is great, his name is elder Justiniano, he's from Bolivia but
he speaks pretty good English.
It's kind of crazy here. There are straight up more stray dogs than there are people here, and
half of them want to kill us. The other half are great though. We're not
allowed to touch the dogs but sometimes I trip and accidentally pet
them. The food here is amazing and I'm probably gonna be fat when I get
back cause they give me so much food everyday haha.
The
driving here is nuts. When I first got to Cusco I was running on like 2
hours of sleep and some missionaries were speaking rapid Spanish, telling
me to get into a cab, so I felt like I was getting kidnapped haha. Then
the cab driver was speeding off honking and swerving all while arguing
with the missionary about the price of the cab and texting. There are no
lanes here, there's just an open road and you go wherever you want, and
people just honk all the time. I don't really know why haha half the
time there's no cars near someone and they honk.
Yesterday we were at church and two dogs just came in the building and nobody even cared apparently, it's just normal haha.






Comments
Post a Comment